Florida State Filing
Florida Auto Insurance
Florida Auto Insurance Regulations are based on two major laws: THE NO FAULT LAW and THE FINANCIAL REPSONSIBILITY LAW.
All vehicle owners in the State of Florida are required to maintain insurance policies that will cover both the injuries and damages to themselves and to the other parties in the event of an accident. Florida does not take insurance violations lightly.
All car owners and drivers in the State of Florida are encouraged to abide by the laws to avoid heavy fines and suspension.
Florida's Financial Responsibility Law covers damage to other individuals or vehicles and does not relate to injuries or damages of your own. According to state law, drivers must carry the required minimal policies under any of the following circumstances: a DUI citation and license revocation, license revocation of a habitual traffic offender, crash that you caused and that involved injuries, or a suspended license resulting from too many points.
Florida's No Fault Law is for coverage that relates to yourself and your vehicle. The minimum requirements are $10,000 for personal injury protection and $10,000 for property damage liability, should you be involved in an accident.
Under the No Fault Law, car owners and drivers are obligated to carry insurance on any vehicle that is in the state for 90 or more days per year. Your policy provider will keep the Florida DMV informed of all transactions regarding your account, whether they are initiated by you or your provider, including failure to renew, renewal, and cancellations. The DMV will notify you if your policy is cancelled, at which time you will have the opportunity to present evidence of valid Florida auto insurance coverage. If you do not present this evidence in the designated time period, your driver's license will be suspended for up to three years or until you offer proof of an active policy. Neglecting to carry the required level of insurance will not only result in the suspension of your driver's license for up to three years, but can also carry substantial fines. You will be charged a $150 fine to have your license reinstated at the end of this suspension, as well as a $250 fine for a second offense during the three year period, and a $500fine for a third violation. Failure to abide by this law is not a reasonable option; as the penalties are very serious.
WHAT IS SR-22?
SR-22 is a form that is required by some states to reinstate driving privileges to a driver who has lost their license due to being in a car accident without auto insurance coverage or as the result of a DUI.
SR-22 INSURANCE is an auto insurance policy that shows the DMV proof of insurance for the future.
SR-22 insurance is only required for drivers who have lost their drivers license due to situations like getting in a car accident without carrying auto insurance, or receiving a DUI for example. In order to get their license reinstated, drivers must submit a SR-22 form.
An SR-22 form requires the auto insuance company to certify that the driver is covered, and the insurer must notify the DMV if the policy is ever cancelled or lapses. Like other non-standard auto insurance policies (high-risk), auto insurance rates for drivers that require an SR-22 form will be higher than for "safe drivers", but rates will likely still vary widely between different auto insuance companies.